The Golf Crow

Image from Tampa Bay News

THE CROW

The crow has humor. Now and then
I’m sure he laughs aloud
Seeing the foolishness of men
Who seem so very proud.

For yesterday I know that he
Gave me a hoarse guffaw
As perched upon a towering tree
My fit of rage he saw.

That inky bird with humor keen
Unquestionably hissed
Because upon the eighteenth green
A two-foot putt I missed.

I know those little beady eyes
That moment flashed with glee
As he let loose those jeering cries
To mock the pride of me.

“Haw-haw!” he shrieked, “If trifles small
Can trouble mortals so,
Give me a life ‘mid pine trees tall
I’d rather be a crow!”

(Copyright, 1931, Edgar A. Guest)

Appleton Post Crescent (Appleton, Wisconsin) Sep 18, 1931

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

