A Melon in Texas

Image from the Digital Art Gallery

A MELON IN TEXAS

Some where in Texas a melon now grows,
A melon intended for me;
Here where it’s cold and a north blizzard blows
In fancy that melon I see.
And something like perfume comes into my mouth
As I think of the gift which shall come from the south.

Now it may be a blossom new-come to the vine,
Or a little green speck on the ground,
But I know very well shall that melon be mine
When my birthday comes rolling around,
For once every year out of Texas a friend
A red-hearted melon remembers to send.

It comes in a wash-tub which nicely it fills
With a mattress of straw for its bed,
And we revel for days in the goodness it spills
From its luscious interior so red.
The neighbors drop in and the children draw near
And for Texan good nature we all give a cheer!

Now I look from my window and gaze at the snow
And the grayness of ice and of sleet,
And I think down in Texas they’ve started to grow
A melon that some day I’ll eat.
And I pray to the Lord to watch over my friend
And give sweetness and size to that melon he’ll send.

(Copyright, 1929.) By Edgar Guest

Lima News (Lima, Ohio) Feb 21, 1929

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

