Song of the Christmas Shopper

Image from Chuckman’s Collection

SONG OF THE CHRISTMAS SHOPPER.

I’ve finished my Christmas shopping,
I’ve squandered my last red sou;
My wallet’s flat,
But I don’t mind that,
For thank the Lord, I’m through.
I’ve bought all the things I’ve listed,
And a dozen or more beside;
Twas a shame and a sin,
How I blew in,
My coin this glad Yuletide.
My corn is about to kill me,
And my joints are still and sore;
My back feels lame,
And my weary frame,
Will ached for a week or more.
I’ve finished my Christmas shopping,
I’ve got all I’m going to get,
By I gravely doubt,
Had my roll held out,
If I would have been through yet.

Appleton Post Crescent (Appleton, Wisconsin) Dec 22, 1923

Newark Advocate (Newark, Ohio) Dec 15, 1911

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

