A Little Mistake

Image from Life of a Jersey Girl

A LITTLE MISTAKE.

Since Gladys took to gardening
And wields the rake and hoe,
She wears a pair of overalls
Just like her brother Joe.
She is a picture that
Whenever I behold her makes
My heart go pit-a-pat.

Last night beneath the silver moon
I stole upon her where
She weeded the potato patch
With slow and patient care.
I clasped her in my arms and took
A kiss and then another,
Before I saw that it was not
My Gladys, but her brother.

— Minna Irving, in New York Sun.

Oakland Tribune (Oakland, California) Jun 30, 1917

Image from Abigail Doll

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

