This Date in History – George Washington

George Washington potrait - The Newark Advocate OH 22 FEb 1904

*     *     *

Today is the Anniversary of GW Death - Kokomo Tribune IN 14 Dec 1929

WASHINGTON’S DEATH

One hundred and thirty years ago today, on December 14, 1799, George Washington died.

On Dec. 12 of that year, Washington was exposed in the saddle for several hours to cold and snow, and attacked with acute laryngitis, for which he was repeatedly bled.

Washington sunk rapidly and died two days later. His last words were characteristic. He said: “I die hard, but I am not afraid to go. I believed from my first attack that I should not survive it. My breath cannot last long.” A little later he said: “I feel myself going. I thank you for your attentions; but I pray you to take no more trouble about me. Let me go off quietly. I cannot last long.”

After some instructions to his secretary about his burial, he became easier, felt for his own pulses, and died without a struggle.

Mourning was almost as widespread in Europe as it was in America.

Kokomo Tribune (Kokomo, Indiana) Dec 14, 1929

This Date in History - The News - Frederick MD 14 Dec 1893

1893

*     *     *

This Date In History - Sandusky Star Journal OH 14 Dec 1911

1911

*     *     *

Today in History - GW - Sheboygan Press WI 14 Dec 1928

1928

*     *     *

Today in History - George Washington - The News - Frederick MD - 14 Dec 1929

1929

*     *     *

Today in History - GW - The Bridgeport Post CT 14 Dec 1967

1967

*     *     *

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

